}
عناصر 0
اختر صفحة

 

في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تباينت بشكل كبير نسبة الأشخاص الذين يرتدون أقنعة أثناء جائحة COVID-19. يمكن تقسيمها بسهولة إلى ثلاث فئات - القناع الحقيقي ، أولئك الذين يؤمنون ويفهمون الغرض من وراء استخدام القناع ، البينيون ، الذين يقررون ارتداء قناع يعتمد على وضعهم ومحيطهم ومضاد الأقنعة ، الذين يؤمنون أن ارتداء القناع ينتهك حريتهم ، ولا يحبون أن يقال لهم ماذا يفعلون. 

كانت أقنعة الوجه رمزًا في كل مكان لوباء أصاب الملايين من الناس وقتل أكثر من 4 ملايين. في المستشفيات ومنشآت الرعاية الصحية الأخرى ، فإن استخدام الأقنعة الطبية مثل أقنعة الوجه MEO Med خفض انتقال الفيروس بشكل كبير. أدى استخدام الأقنعة في الأماكن العامة إلى انخفاض معدلات الإصابة. أشارت الدراسات إلى أن الأقنعة يمكن أن تنقذ الأرواح عن طريق تقليل انتشار فرص انتقال فيروس كورونا والإصابة به، وكذلك تقليل شدة العدوى إذا أصيب الأشخاص بالمرض. 

ومع ذلك ، لا يزال هناك أشخاص يشككون في فعالية القناع والغرض منه؟ ما الذي يفسر هذا السلوك الغامض؟ وكيف ننقل خطورة لبس القناع لمن لا يقنع؟ 

تتجاوز الإجابة علم الأحياء وعلم الأوبئة والفيزياء. السلوك البشري هو جوهر كيف ولماذا نختار (أو لا نختار) ارتداء قناع في العالم الحقيقي.

وجدت دراسة جديدة شارك في تأليفها أحد أعضاء هيئة التدريس في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا أن الشعور العام بـ "الجماعية" هو المحرك الرئيسي لزيادة استخدام القناع. تشير الجماعية على نطاق واسع إلى الميل إلى إعطاء الأولوية لاحتياجات المجموعة على اهتمامات الفرد. 

ومن ثم ، ربما لاحظت أنه أثناء الوباء ، ناشدت الحكومات الشعور الجماعي بالمسؤولية لدى مواطنيها - لرعاية صغارهم أو كبار السن ، إما لارتداء قناع أو تلقي التطعيم ، على سبيل المثال ، دعوة حكومة نيوزيلندا للعمل إلى "فريقها المكون من 5 ملايين".

قد يساعد مناشدة شعور الناس بالمسؤولية الجماعية على الوقوف معًا في أزمة ودعم بعضهم البعض من خلال ارتداء قناع.

تشير دراسة أخرى أجراها المؤلفان ستيفن تايلور وجوردون ج. 

التفاعل النفسي (PR) هو الاستثارة غير السارة التي يمر بها الشخص عندما يُطلب منه اتباع الأوامر التي يعتقد أنها تنتهك اختياراته الشخصية. يميل الأشخاص الذين يتمتعون بدرجة عالية من العلاقات العامة إلى الرد على محاولات الإقناع بالعداء والحجج المضادة ، معتقدين أنهم يدافعون عن حريتهم. 

يقول الباحثون أنه بدلاً من ذلك ، قد تكون الاستراتيجيات التي تعالج هذه المشكلة بشكل مباشر أكثر فعالية. على سبيل المثال، الرسائل التي تسلط الضوء على حرية الاختيار عند مطالبة الأشخاص بارتداء الأقنعة (على سبيل المثال ، "لديك الحق في ارتداء قناع للبقاء آمنًا. لا تدع أي شخص يأخذ حقك").

وبالنسبة للوسطاء ، قد يكون الوقت قد حان لاتخاذ الإجراءات التكتيكية! نظرًا لأنهم يحاولون فعل الشيء الصحيح ، ولديهم وعي بموعد ارتداء القناع نتيجة إما الشعور بالذنب أو الإلهام الجماعي أو الخوف من الحكم ، مما يمنحهم إحساسًا بالمسؤولية في بيئة عدم اليقين هذه، ربما فقط ما طلبه الطبيب!

}
0 Items
Select Page

Around the world, the percentage of people wearing masks during the COVID-19 pandemic has varied enormously. They can easily be divided into three categories – the true maskers, those who believe and understand the purpose behind using a mask, the in-betweeners, who decide to wear a mask dependent on their situation and surroundings and the anti-maskers, who believe that wearing a mask infringes on their freedom, and do not like to be told what to do. 

Face masks have been the ubiquitous symbol of a pandemic that has sickened millions of people and killed more than 4 million. In hospitals and other healthcare facilities, the use of medical-grade masks like the MEO Med face masks has cut down the transmission of virus drastically. Usage of masks in public has resulted in a drop in infections rates. Studies have suggested that masks could save lives by cutting down the chances of both transmitting and catching the coronavirus, as well as reducing the severity of infection if people do contract the disease. 

And yet, there are people who still question the effectiveness and purpose of a mask? What explains this ambiguous behaviour? And how can we convey the seriousness of wearing a mask to a non-masker? 

The answer goes beyond biology, epidemiology and physics. Human behaviour is core to how and why we choose (or not) to wear a mask in the real world.

A new study co-authored by an MIT faculty member finds that a public sense of “collectivism” is a key driver of increased mask use. Collectivism broadly refers to the tendency to prioritize a group’s needs over an individual’s concerns. 

Hence, you may have observed that during the pandemic, governments appealed to their citizens’ collective sense of responsibility – to take care of their young or elders, to either wear a mask or get vaccinated, for example, the New Zealand government’s call to action to its “team of 5 million”.

Appealing to people’s sense of group responsibility may help them stand together in a crisis and support each other by wearing a mask.

Another study by authors Steven Taylor and Gordon J. G. Asmundson suggests that the refusal to wear masks during the pandemic may be partially motivated by a phenomenon called psychological reactance. 

Psychological reactance (PR) is the unpleasant arousal that a person experiences when they are asked to follow orders that they believe to infringe on their personal choices. People high in PR tend to react to attempts at persuasion with hostility and counter-arguments, believing that they are defending their freedom. 

The researchers say that instead, strategies that directly address this issue may be more effective. For example, messaging that highlights freedom of choice when asking people to wear masks (e.g., “You have a right to wear a mask to stay safe. Don’t let anyone take away your right.”).

And for the in-betweeners, it may be time to get tactical! Since they are already trying to do the right thing, and have an awareness of when to wear a mask as a result of either guilt, collectivistic inspiration or fear of judgment, giving them a sense of responsibility in this environment of uncertainty, maybe just what the doctor ordered!